Ads by Google Ads by Google

ASCC-PTK holds Spring 2024 Induction

New and current members of the Phi Theta Kappa at ASCC

Pago Pago, AMERICAN SAMOA — In what has become a tradition at the American Samoa Community College (ASCC), early in each spring and fall semester the ASCC-based Alpha Epsilon Mu chapter of the nation-wide Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society holds its induction ceremony for new members. The PTK chapter’s most recent induction took place on Thursday, February 9, welcoming 15 ASCC students into the ranks of the prestigious honor society as their family and friends joined them in the College’s Multi-Purpose Auditorium to celebrate the achievement.

For each induction ceremony, the PTK invites an influential member of the community to make a keynote speech emphasizing the honor society’s core value of service to others. For the spring 2024 induction, ASCC and PTK alumnus Mr. Saipele Matagi Tofiga provided the keynote speech. After graduating from ASCC in 2012 with an Associate degree, in Accounting, Tofiga attended California State University at East Bay, and completed his Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting & 2014. His professional career commenced in 2015 when he was hired by the American Samoa Government first as a staff accountant and subsequently as a senior accountant. He next served as Finance Manager for the Governor’s Office from 2021 to 2023, and is currently the co-owner of the private business PolyXpress.

Following Tofiga’s address, the PTK Officers led the new inductees through the traditional candle-lighting, which allowed for the introduction of each new member, followed by the group recitation of the society’s oath of allegiance. This semester, the PTK welcomed inductees Sedzaeda Tiatia, Jennifer Leigh Vaiau, Letoe’e-Lillyann Heta Launiu, Leleagaatutuila Poulima, Monica Maeataanoa, Ati E. Paea Indira Saufagaloa Carmellite Lemana, Isaac B. Alosio, Anthony Salave’a, Saufoi Tavete, Destiny Savusa Filomena Afioa’e, Daphne Falesoa Puni, Leilani Togi, Monica Papalii and Ashley Leu Lualua.

Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programs. In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges. Currently, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American education today, with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located in the 50 states and US territories, Canada and Germany.

At ASCC, the society’s Alpha Epsilon Mu chapter is overseen by lead advisor Mr. Kuki Tuiasosopo, and faculty advisors Dr. Ernie Seiuli, Mrs. Amete Mulipola-Moefiainu and Mrs. Adrien Vasai-Moana. PTK Officers for spring 2024 are Donwen Hong (President), Veronica Tuna (Vice President), Queenie Fomai (Secretary), Krista Timoteo (Treasurer), and Michael Iosefo (PR Secretary). For more information on PTK activities and opportunities across the nation, visit their website: