Ads by Google Ads by Google

Gov Lemanu announces members of advisory panel for OPAD

ASG govt logo

Pago Pago, AMERICAN SAMOA — In a memorandum last week Tuesday, Gov. Lemanu Peleti Palepoi Sialega Mauga announced the sitting members to the Advisory Council of the Protection & Advocacy for Individuals with Mental Illness (PAIMI) program, which is administered by the ASG Office of Protection and Advocacy for the Disabled.

The governor explained that pursuant to federal regulations, a protection and advocacy program is mandated to establish and maintain an Advisory Council to provide independent advise and recommendations, to work jointly with the governing authority in the development of policies and priorities as well as to contribute to the program’s annual Program Progress Report by law.

Additionally, membership qualifications are determined by federal regulations and require a mix of people who have received or are receiving mental health services or who are family members of such persons, mental health professionals, individuals from the community who are knowledgable about mental illness and have demonstrated to improving mental health services, providers of mental health services, and attorneys.

Accordingly, the governor announcing the sitting members of the PAIMI Advisory Council reconfirmed and new appointees named, along with their expiration date of their term.

The reconfirm members are Samuel Meleisea, Si’itia Lemusu, Elizabeth Mailo, and Dr. Jueta Tofaeono — all their terms expire Jan. 12, 2022. Also reconfirmed with terms that expire Aug. 12, 2023 are Vesi Fautanu Jr., Nu’usina Niumata, Sigalo Sailo, Moemoe Singh and Tui Faaliga.

New members are Muaiao Moliga, Alesana Tuala, Aitofele B. Sunia, Elinor Lutu-McMoore, Satali Tominiko, Mona Uli and Dr. Julia Fo’ifua - and their terms expire Aug. 12, 2025.