Ads by Google Ads by Google

Local Democratic Party elects new officers

The Tradewinds Hotel logo
American Samoa Democratic Party media release

Pago Pago, AMERICAN SAMOA — The American Sāmoa Democratic Party held an election for officer positions on Thursday, October 22, 2020, at Tradewinds Hotel.

Local Democrats filled the Naumati Ballroom to cast their votes for the party’s State Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, National Committeewoman and National Committeeman. Early voting was allowed for one hour, beginning at 4:30pm.

An election committee had been selected and nominations for all six positions were accepted from September 30 through October 10. With the Vice-Chair running unopposed, all ballots for the remaining positions were cast throughout the evening. The new officers are Chair, Ti’a Reid; Vice-Chair, Petti Matila; Treasurer, Justin Tuiasosopo; Secretary, Renee Leotele Togafau-Matautia; and National Committeeman, Andrew Berquist. The position of National Committeewoman remains vacant as both nominees withdrew.

The American Sāmoa Democratic Party thanks all of its members, as well as the election committee, that participated in the election.