Ads by Google Ads by Google

More designated acting directors announced

Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga has announced six more cabinet appointments, which includes six designated as acting directors subject to Fono confirmation. The separate memos, all dated yesterday, were released late yesterday afternoon by the Governor’s Office.

“Pending nomination and confirmation” by the Fono:

•     Eseneiaso J. Liu is designated acting director for Human Resources Department effective today. Liu had served as deputy director in the last four years for DHR.  She replaces former DHR director, Le’i Sonny Thompson who is currently acting Police Commissioner.

•     Tuimavave Tauapa’i Laupola is designated acting director of Office of Public Information (OPI), effective today. Tuimavave had been in the Governor’s Office for the last four years and he replaces former OPI (KVZK-TV) director, Fagafaga Daniel Langkilde, who is now with the Governor’s Office.

•     Dr. Peter Tinitali is designated acting director for the Office of Protection and Advocacy for the Disable (OPAD) and the designation was effective Jan. 3. Tinitali had been OPAD director in the last four years.

•     Tamaaiga Maeataanoa Pili Gaoteote is designated acting director of the Department of Parks and Recreation and the appointment was effective Jan. 17.  He had served as director for the same department in the last four years.

Also yesterday, the governor designated former deputy police commissioner, Lesei’au Vaitoelau T. Laumoli as director of Criminal Justice Planning Agency effective today. He replaces former CJPA director Keith Gebauer, who is now Deputy Treasurer for the Revenue Division at the Treasury Department.

Additionally, former senator Paogofie Fiaigoa is director of the American Samoa Council on Arts, Culture and Humanities (or Arts Council). The appointment was effective Jan. 3. Paogofie, who had served as the Arts Council board chairman, replaced former director, Uta Dr. Laloulu Tagoilelagi, who resigned late last year due to medical reasons.

Cabinet appointments of Lesei’au and Paogofie are not subject to Fono confirmation.