Ads by Google Ads by Google

New member of Board of Cosmetology appointed


Pago Pago, AMERICAN SAMOA — In a Sept. 7th memorandum, Acting Gov. Talauega Eleasalo V. Ale appointed Veronica Annesley to the American Samoa Board of Cosmetology for a two-year term.

Talauega says that Ms Annesley will replace Faamumu Elizabeth Tanielu who has resigned from the board.

Tanielu, along with Sophia Aulava, Cherish Young, Gloria Poasa-Avalos and Helen Young, were among the five new members appointed in March this year after the governor reconstituted the board.

Local law calls for a five-member board appointed by the governor for staggered, 3 year terms. At least two members must be operators licensed to practice in the Territory. The board elects a chairman from its members.

According to local law, the board determines the sufficiency of the preliminary qualifications of applicants for licensure. It also outlines specific qualifications. Details of the law — A.S.C.A 31.1502.1 — can be found on the American Samoa Bar Association website (