Ads by Google Ads by Google

2020 Polynesian Bowl roster will include one local athlete

Faalili Faamoe Jr.
The honorary team captains are both of Samoan descent

Honolulu, HAWAII — Nearly 100 football players were selected for the 2020 Polynesian Bowl and the roster includes only one local high school player: Leone High School senior and team captain Faalili Faamoe Jr. who is scheduled to depart the territory tonight.

The 4th Polynesian Bowl will take place January 18, 2020 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Faamoe Jr. is a defensive lineman for the Lions; however, the 6-5, 216 lb. star often plays different positions, on both offense and defense.

Samoa News points out that while Faamoe Jr is the only player out of American Samoa who was selected for the 2020 Polynesian Bowl, the two honorary team captains - although both were born off island - are also Samoan. They are: University of Iowa defensive end A.J. Epenesa; and Crimson Tide star quarterback Tua Tagovailoa.

The two are idolized by local football players who aspire to compete at the college level and eventually, the National Football League (NFL).

Epenesa and Tagovailoa, have been part of the Polynesian Bowl since it was launched.

The two were selected - and played - during the inaugural 2017 Polynesian Bowl where Epenesa was named Defensive MVP.

Tagovailoa – who recently announced that he will be entering the 2020 NFL draft – is a junior at the University of Alabama. He was the 2018 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year and went on to become co-winner of the 2019 Polynesian College Football Player of the Year award (Epenesa was a finalist for the honor that year).

Tagovailoa is an All SEC-Selection and a Hawaii native who shined at St. Louis HS in Honolulu. At the Polynesian Bowl, he will be the honorary captain for Team Mauka, which will be coached by Steve Spurrier.

Epenesa, who played at Edwardsville in Illinois and has been named to the 1st Team All Big 10, will be the honorary captain for Team Makai, coached by Frank Beamer.


The Polynesian Bowl is held annually during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week, and is televised LIVE on CBS Sports Network. Major sponsors include Adidas, BodyArmor, CrossCountry Mortgage, Friends of Hawai’i Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, Hawaii Building & Construction Trades Council, Hawai’i News Now, Hawai’i Tourism Authority, Motiv8 Foundation, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel, and Riddell.


The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches, and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones, and Reno Mahe.

More information at <>