Ads by Google Ads by Google

Australia breaks Fiji hearts to win Hong Kong Sevens

Hong Kong Sevens Australia winning team
A photo feature by Barry Markowiz
All photos by Barry Markowitz, courtesy Sadie's by the Sea

This was perhaps the most hotly contested Hong Kong Sevens in history as two quarter-finals and one semi-final required extra time to separate the teams in highly competitive contests, before the closely fought bronze and gold medal finals.

  • Australia beat Fiji 20-17 with a last gasp try to win sensational Hong Kong Sevens title
  • France claim the bronze medal thanks to a 19-17 victory over Samoa
  • Return of Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens a resounding success with world class sevens played in front of a large and vibrant crowd
  • Hong Kong was the first of 11 rounds in the men’s 2023 World Series, the women’s Series starts with a combined event in Dubai on 2-3 December 2022
  • The 2023 Series is set to be the most competitive yet, with Paris 2024 Olympic qualification and Series relegation at stake

Here are Senior Photographer Barry Markowitz's photo highlights —

Sione Molia and his fellow New Zealand All Black 7s were dominated both offensively and defensively as evident in their being crushed 24-0 by Manu Samoa, Day 1 at the 2022 HSBC Hong Kong 7s at Hong Kong Stadium.

Many moments after scoring a Try, Owen Niue is cheapshotted by Australia’s Josh Turner.  Turner was Yellow Carded, Manu Samoa went on to win 22-17 over Australia, Day 2 of the HSBC Hong Kong 7s at the Hong Kong Stadium, Happy Valley, Hong Kong, Peoples Republic of China.  

Steve Onosai speeds ahead of a defender for a try as Manu Samoa was challenged, but beat Hong Kong, 31-15, Day 2 of the HSBC Hong Kong 7s at the Hong Kong Stadium, Peoples Republic of China.  Manu Samoa faces Argentina in the Cup Quarter Finals Sunday.

As a Puma defender lays anguished on the ground, Owen Niue scores the tying Try that led to Manu Samoa's 19-14 Cup Quarter Finals victory over Argentina at Finals, Day 3 of the HSBC Hong Kong 7s at the Hong Kong Stadium, Peoples Republic of China.