Ads by Google Ads by Google

Lolo appoints three new parole board members

Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga [SN file photo]
compiled by Samoa News staff

Two church ministers are among the three new members of the ASG Parole Board appointed early this week by Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga.

Local law calls for a five-member Parole Board, not employed by the government, and appointed by the governor. The board selects one of its member to be chairperson. Parole Board members are not subject to Fono confirmation.

In an Oct. 24th memo, the governor appointed Rev. Fa’afetai Fuimaono, Mina Saifoloi and Rev. Sam Tinai as the new members of the Parole Board. Lolo said he is confident in the ability of these individuals to “exercise sound judgement, to provide counsel and direction and to carry out the statutory duties of the board”.

The trio will join current board members, Father Vaiula Iulio and Tauaifaiva Suiaunoa.

According to Lolo, each appointed member shall serve “an indefinite term” until such time his or her successor is appointed by the governor.

Lolo calls on all ASG departments and agencies to support and, where appropriate, assist the Parole Board in carrying out its duties and responsibilities.