Ads by Google Ads by Google

Samoa's new cabinet meets to set budget

Samoa's new FAST party cabinet
compiled by Samoa News staff

Apia, SAMOA — Samoa's first woman prime minister, Fiamē Naomi Mata'afa, held the first cabinet meeting of the country's new government on Tuesday (Samoa time).

Gov. Lemanu Peleti Mauga told a cabinet meeting yesterday, Monday, July 26, 2021, of communication earlier in the day with Samoa’s new Prime Minister Fiame and that American Samoa has expressed blessings to the new government of Samoa. And in return, Fiame send regards to American Samoa.

Lemanu said ASG will give Fiame’s government time to transition before official communication and other matters are discussed in the future. He asked the people of American Samoa to keep Samoa in their prayers and hearts.

It has been 109 days since being elected and the FAST party has finally been able to take office.

Ministers have now moved into their new offices and met with their ministries' chief executives.

Tuesday's meeting confirmed priorities for keeping the government functioning.

The interim operational budget can meet up to 25-percent of the value of the last year's budget.

Parliament will be called to approve it.

Despite months of acrimony and uncertainty since the election, a FAST spokesperson says the transition to government is going smoothly.

Outgoing prime minister Tuila'epa Sa'ilelele Malielegaoi has wished the new government well.

He says his party will support it and work with it in good spirit.

1. Hon. Fiamē Naomi Mata'afa - Prime Minister

Prime Minister's Office & Cabinet; Foreign Affairs, Attorney Generals Office, Ombudsman & Public Service Commission.

2. Tuala Tevaga Iosefo Ponifasio - Deputy Prime Minister

Minister of Customs and Revenue, Audit Office, Public Trust.

3. Hon. La'auli Leuatea Polataivao Fosi

Minister of Agriculture & Fisheries

4. Olo Fiti Afoa Va'ai

Ministry of Works & Infrastructure

5. Leatinu'u Wayne So'oialo

Minister of Commerce, Industry & Labour & Private Enterprises

6. Valasi Luapitofanua To'omaga Tafito Selesele

Minister of Health

7. Faualo Harry Jefferey Schuster

Minister of Police & Prisons

8. Mulipola Anarosa Ale Molio'o

Minister of Finance

9. Seu'ula Ioane

Minister of Education, Sports & Culture

10. Toelupe Poumulinuku Onesemo

Minister of Communication, Information & Technology

11. Leota Laki Lamositele

Minister of Women & Social Development and Associate Minister of Finance

12. Matamua Seumanu Vasati Sili Pulufana

Minister of Justice and Courts Administration

(Sources: RNZ Pacific, Fili Sagapolutele — Samoa News correspondent)